Skip to main content
Bookmark and Share

Developing the Young Workforce

Developing the Young Workforce (DYW) is Scotland's youth employment strategy and through DYW, we aim to reduce youth unemployment levels by 40% by 2021. The strategy aims to create an excellent work relevant education offer to young people in Scotland, giving them the skills for the current and anticipated jobs market.

The Scottish Government has established a Programme Board chaired by Aileen McKechnie, Director of Advanced Learning and Science, with membership drawn from local and central government, the college sector and the business community. The Programme Board takes political and senior stakeholder guidance from the National Advisory Group, jointly chaired by Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills and Councillor Stephen McCabe (COSLA), with Sir Ian Wood as a member. Throughout the 7 year programme, both the Programme Board and National Advisory Group will be key to providing crucial advice on the strategy. The Programme Board meet quarterly with the National Advisory Group meeting biannually.

Membership of our Programme Board and National Advisory Group can be found below.  

Membership of the National Advisory Group is:

  • Deputy First Minister, John Swinney (joint Chair)
  • Councillor Stephen McCabe (joint Chair)
  • Sir Ian Wood
  • Minister for Employability and Training, Jamie Hepburn MSP
  • Brian Johnstone (Regional College Chair, Dumfries & Galloway)
  • John Fyffe (President, Association of Directors of Education in Scotland)
  • Joanna Murphy (National Parents' Forum for Scotland)
  • Larry Flanagan (EIS General Secretary)
  • Grahame Smith (STUC General Secretary, Wood Commissioner)
  • Ben McKendrick (Chief Executive, Scottish Youth Parliament)
  • Elma Murray (SOLACE representative)
  • Rob Woodward (STV, DYW National Group Chair)
  • Linda McAulay-Griffiths (Head of Education for East Ayrshire Council)
  • Danielle MacTavish (Chair of DYW West Highland and HR Specialist at GFG Alliance)

Membership of the Programme Board is:

  • Aileen McKechnie - Chair (Scottish Government, Director of Advanced Learning and Science)
  • Linda McKay (ex-Principal, Forth Valley College; Wood Commissioner)
  • Christine Pollock (ex-Director of Education North Lanarkshire, Wood Commissioner)
  • Fiona Robertson (Scottish Government, Director of Learning)
  • Mhairi Harrington (Principal, West Lothian College)
  • Terry Lanagan (Previous Director of Education West Dunbartonshire, Curriculum for Excellence Management Board)
  • Pamela Smith (Falkirk Council's Employment and Training Manager)
  • John Stewart (Director of HR, Scottish and Southern Energy)
  • Mike Callaghan (COSLA)
  • Angela McCusker (Regional Chair Dundee and Angus College)