Menu
Search
× Close
Istock 508545653

Local Authorities

Scotland's 32 local authorities are responsible for providing a range of public services, and are a key partner in the design and delivery of employability services in Scotland. Strengthened and inclusive local partnerships are a critical milestone supporting increased local governance enabling a mixed economy of provision in local delivery.

Overview

Local Employability Partnership

Recognising the degree of variability of Local Employability Partnerships across Scotland a framework has been developed to provide some consensus around structure and remit of employability partnerships, whilst allowing flexibility reflective of local circumstances. The framework has been developed following joint discussions with SLAED and SCVO and aims to provide a starting point in developing enhanced local partnership working for both strategic and delivery partners. The framework has also been adopted for use in delivering elements of the Young Person's Guarantee.

To support the strengthening of local partnerships a self-assessment process has been completed by the member organisations of all 32 Local Employability Partnerships. The purpose of the assessment is to review the current functionality and effectiveness of each local employability partnership in meeting the ambitions of No One Left Behind and to inform ongoing development actions to support readiness for further implementation of No One Left Behind from April 2022.

Further detail on activity, supported by the recently published Local Employability Partnership Framework which provides a guide to help provide a national coherence and local flexibility can be found in the Local Employability Partnership Self Assessment National Overview.

 

Employer Recruitment Incentive Framework

In line with recommendations from Sandy Begbie's Young Person's Guarantee Initial Report and in keeping with the principles of No One left Behind, an Employer Recruitment Incentive Framework has been published. The Framework, developed in partnership between the Scottish and Local Government, outlines the national minimum standards for publicly funded recruitment incentives available to support people of all ages who meet the required eligibility criteria whilst also embedding fair work principles into our support measures. The Framework came into effect from 1st April 2021.

 

Partnerships Lead Contact Details

Local Authority

Contact

Email Address

Aberdeen City

Angela Taylor

AngTaylor@aberdeencity.gov.uk

Aberdeenshire

Ewen Allardyce

Ewen.Allardyce@aberdeenshire.gov.uk

Angus

Fiona O'Connor

O'ConnorF@angus.gov.uk

Argyll and Bute

Ishabel Bremner

Ishabel.Bremner@argyll-bute.gov.uk

Clackmannanshire

Jane Adamson

JAdamson@clacks.gov.uk

Dumfries and Galloway

Lynne Burgess

lynne.burgess2@dumgal.gov.uk

Dundee City

John Davidson

john.davidson@dundeecity.gov.uk

East Ayrshire

Catherine Hester

Catherine.hester@east-ayrshire.gov.uk

East Dunbartonshire

Drummond Stewart

drummond.stewart@eastdunbarton.gov.uk

East Lothian

Jacqueline Henderson

jhenderson2@eastlothian.gov.uk

East Renfrewshire

Michael McKernan

Michael.McKernan@eastrenfrewshire.gov.uk

Edinburgh

Susanne Donkin

Susanne.Donkin@edinburgh.gov.uk

Falkirk

Sarah McCulley

sarah.mcculley@falkirk.gov.uk

Fife

John McFarlane

john.mcfarlane@fife.gov.uk

Glasgow

Mike McNally

michael.mcnally@glasgow.gov.uk

Highlands

Jane Gair

jane.gair@highland.gov.uk

Inverclyde

Liz Baird

liz.baird@inverclyde.gov.uk

Midlothian

Dennis Dunne

dennis.dunne@midlothian.gov.uk

Moray

Amy Cruickshank

amy.cruickshank@moray.gov.uk

North Ayrshire

Greig Robson

greigrobson@north-ayrshire.gov.uk

North Lanarkshire

Paul Kane

KanePaul@northlan.gov.uk

Orkney

Kerry Spence

kerry.spence@orkney.gov.uk

Perth and Kinross

Lynne Webster

LynnWebster@pkc.gov.uk

Renfrewshire

Ruth Cooper

ruth.cooper@renfrewshire.gov.uk

Scottish Borders

Lesley Forsyth

ljforsyth@scotborders.gov.uk

Shetland

Brenda Leask

brenda.leask@shetland.gov.uk

South Ayrshire

Heather Anderson

Heather.Anderson@south-ayrshire.gov.uk

South Lanarkshire

Gill Bhatti

gill.bhatti@southlanarkshire.gov.uk

Stirling

Ed Gibbon

gibbone@stirling.gov.uk

West Dunbartonshire

Stephen Brooks

Stephen.Brooks@west-dunbarton.gov.uk

West Lothian

Clare Stewart

clare.stewart@westlothian.gov.uk

Western Isles

Dolina Smith

Dolina-smith@cne-siar.gov.uk

 

Useful partnership documents

Scottish Government and Scottish Local Government Partnership Working Agreement for Employability

The partnership agreement for employability signed by Scottish Ministers and COSLA leaders in December 2018, signalled a commitment to a collaborative approach between the two levels of Government in Scotland.

Click to read

Local Employability Partnership Framework (Including Delivery Of Young Persons Guarantee)

The framework has been developed following joint discussions with SLAED and SCVO and aims to provide a starting point in developing enhanced local partnership working for both strategic and delivery partners. The framework has also been adopted for use in delivering elements of the Young Person's Guarantee.

Scottish & Local Government Employability Partnership Update – March 2021

Jamie Hepburn MSP, then Minister for Business, Fair Work and Skills and Councillor Kelly Parry, COSLA Community Wellbeing Spokesperson, regularly issued partnership joint updates on the work that Scottish and Local Government and partners have undertaken since the signing of the Partnership Working Agreement.

Click to read

Local Employability Partnership Self Assessment National Overview

To support the strengthening of local partnerships a self-assessment process has been completed by the member organisations of all 32 Local Employability Partnerships. The purpose of the assessment is to review the current functionality and effectiveness of each local employability partnership in meeting the ambitions of No One Left Behind and to inform ongoing development actions to support readiness for further implementation of No One Left Behind from April 2022.

Click to read

Scottish and Local Government Employability Action Plan - Feb 2020

The Scottish and Local Government Employability Action Plan sets out the framework for how we will facilitate the changes with the right levels of national leadership and local action.

Click to read

Monthly E-bulletin

We share the latest employability news and updates via our regular e-bulletin

Sign Up